Real safety. Real health. Real difference.

Real safety. Real health. Real difference.


PIRSA – Recognition for seafood industry excellence

The winners of all categories of the 2019 SA Seafood Industry Awards were announced at a joint Wildcatch Fisheries SA Inc. (WFSA) & Primary Industries & Regions SA (PIRSA) hosted event at the National Wine Centre of Australia on the 26th July 2019.

The event was supported by a number of sponsors including PIRSA (Gold event sponsor), Robarra (Silver event sponsor), Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (Silver event sponsor) and individual sponsors for each of the award categories.

The Awards ceremony, held every two years, recognises South Australian seafood industry achievements and excellence, and was officially opened this year by the Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone in front of 200 participants. MCs for the Gala event were local radio/television celebrities, ADELADY’S Hayley & Lauren.

Nominations for the Awards were received in early June and winners were selected by a panel of judges which included Adam Main, General Manager of Aquaculture, PIRSA; Karen Holder, President, Women in Seafood Australasia; and Robbie Davis, Chief Executive Officer, Potatoes South Australia.

The following awards were presented:

People’s Choice Fish & Chips Award (sponsored by FRDC) Awarded to – Dolphin Fish Shop & Take Away, Netley

Fish & Chips Award (sponsored by FRDC) Awarded to – Fish Out of Water, Hyde Park & The Stunned Mullet, Henley Beach

Restaurant Award (sponsored by Robarra) Awarded to – Chianti Restaurant

Business (Small) Award (sponsored by Oyster Bob) Awarded to – Streaky Bay Marine Products

Business (Large) Award (sponsored by Fisheries Asset Brokers) Awarded to – Southern Ocean Express

Safety Award (sponsored by AMSA) Awarded to – Alex Thomas P/L and the Limestone Coast Fishermen’s Cooperative

Research Development & Extension Award (sponsored by FRDC) Awarded to – Alison Turnbull (SARDI Food Sciences)

Environment Award (sponsored by Sydney Fish Market) Awarded to – Kirsten Rough (Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association)

People Development Award (sponsored by NMAC SA P/L) Awarded to – Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy

Primary Producer Award (sponsored by SA Seafood Express) Awarded to – Ashley Perkins

Promotion Award (sponsored by Honey and Fox) Awarded to – Coorong Wild Seafood

Young Achiever Award (sponsored by Sydney Fish Market) Awarded to – Ashley Lukin & Marcus Turner

Industry Ambassador Award (sponsored by PIRSA) Awarded to – Garry Hera-Singh

Dennis Holder, President of WFSA, congratulated this year’s award recipients and applauded the quality of the nominations.

“The judges’ task was extremely difficult this year and I would like to congratulate all nominees for their outstanding contribution to the SA seafood industry,” said Mr Holder.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone congratulated all nominees and winners, noting their calibre reflects South Australia’s renowned seafood industry.

“Some of the world’s most sought-after seafood is from South Australia’s clean waters, and South Australia is recognised worldwide for its sustainable fisheries − this year’s Seafood Industry Award winners reflect this excellence.”

WFSA Executive Officer Franca Romeo described the event as a huge success and a fantastic forum for industry participants to exchange ideas and celebrate the industry’s many achievements.

Winners of each Award category will now proceed to the national awards competition to be held at the Australian Seafood Industry Awards in Melbourne, 9-11 October 2019, in conjunction with the 2019 Seafood Directions conference.

Originally published online on Department of Primary Industries and Regions South Australia. Article no longer available online.

Real safety. Real health. Real difference.